The Rules of Golf can be complicated – and when they are combined with the handicapping Rules, things can get interesting. In my 35 years in the golf business, I have received nearly as many handicapping questions as Rules of Golf questions.
Every week my club manages five Men’s Days, two Ladies’ Days and one Mixed Day. Thankfully the handicap system handles the necessary calculations. As long as the players have reported the correct tees for their play, the application of all of the tee adjustments is simple.
When players turn in their scores in these events, they are responsible for having the correct hole by hole scores and assuring the scorecard is properly attested by the player and the marker. There is no requirement for a player’s handicap to be shown on the scorecard or for players to add up their own scores. If the player returns a scorecard on which they have made a mistake in showing or applying a handicap, or on which they have made a mistake in adding up the scores, there is no penalty.
Once the Committee receives the scorecard from the player at the end of his or her round, the Committee is responsible for:
• Adding up the player’s scores
• Calculating the player’s handicap strokes for the competition and using it to calculate the player’s net score
See Rule 3.3b(4) for more information on how this works. Additionally, Clarification 3.3b(4)/1 reminds us that the Committee is responsible for adding up the player’s hole scores and, in a handicap competition, for determining how many handicap strokes the player will get for the round and calculating the player’s net score. If the Committee makes an error in carrying out any of these responsibilities, this is an administrative mistake and there is no time limit to correct such a mistake (Rule 20.2d(2)).
If a player notices such a mistake, however, they are responsible for alerting the Committee to the mistake. If it is discovered that the player noticed such a mistake and they deliberately failed to bring it to the attention of the Committee, the Committee should disqualify the player under Rule 1.2a (Serious Misconduct).
Recently, I had a call from a sister club about a scoring and handicapping situation. The club had two players that decided to play from a further back set of tees, posted their scores from the forward easier tees, and colluded to not tell the Committee in order to increase their handicaps. In their next event, the Committee became aware of the issue and used Rule 1.2a to disqualify them from the event.
While most of the responsibility for scoring and applying handicaps lands on the Committee, players are responsible for reporting mistakes or inaccurate scoring or handicap information to the Committee. Players who deliberately don’t notify the Committee of errors can pay the most severe price, disqualification. Attending a World Handicap seminar to better understand the handicapping system can be a great benefit to all PGA of America Golf Professionals and Committee members.
Bob Forward is PGA of America Head Professional at River Greens Golf Course in Avon Park, Florida, and a member of the PGA of America Rules Committee.