PGA of America Golf Professionals likely encounter this Rules situation on a regular basis: A golfer’s ball was played as a wrong ball and needs to be replaced on the original spot. But the original spot is now a divot caused by another golfer playing it, or the ball was stepped on during the search, so now what?
Rule 14.2 applies when a ball is lifted or moved, and the Rule requires it to be replaced on a spot. Rule 14.2d tells us how to replace a ball if the original lie was altered when the original ball was lifted or moved, or after the ball was lifted and before the ball is replaced. This situation commonly occurs when a player’s ball is played by another player as a wrong ball, or when a ball is stepped on during a search.
In such cases, the player must replace the ball by placing it on the nearest spot that has a lie most similar to the original lie, is within one club-length of the original spot (which must be estimated if not known), is not nearer the hole and is in the same area of the course as the original spot.
Typically, the nearest suitable spot will be close to the divot created when the ball was played as a wrong ball, with the most likely placement being just behind or to the side of the divot. This is a case when a player replaces a ball by placing it in a new location.
If the lie of a player’s ball is altered during a search, the player must replace the ball using the original ball. However, if the lie is altered after a player’s ball was played as a wrong ball by another player, the player may replace either the original ball or another ball, as the original ball may not be easily recovered.
Under Rule 14.2d, special provisions apply when the ball was in sand at the time its lie was altered. This can occur during a search for a ball in sand or when a ball in sand is lifted due to interference with another player’s shot. In many cases, another player’s stroke may alter the lie of the lifted ball. This situation is unique in the Rules of Golf, as it is the only instance in which a player must re-create the original lie. When replacing the ball on its original spot (which must be estimated if unknown), the player must re-create the original lie as closely as possible. In re-creating the lie, the player may leave a small part of the ball visible if the ball had been covered by sand.
Please note the following correction to the “When Is a Stroke Not a Stroke” Rules Talk article that appeared in the March 2025 issue of PGA Magazine:
In describing an incident at The Sentry played earlier this year, Will Zalatoris and Cam Smith mistakenly played each other’s ball as a wrong ball. The article stated, “After discovering the mistake, the players returned to the spot where their own ball was played in error and ‘dropped’ a ball in the appropriate relief area and played out the hole correctly.”
The players “replaced” (not dropped) their original ball or another ball on the original spot as per Rule 6.3c(2) and played out the hole correctly with a penalty of two strokes for each player.
Mike Raby, PGA (pictured), is Vice Chairman of the PGA of America Rules Committee and the Director of Golf for BREC Golf Courses in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.